Becky Home-Ecky Gets Lonely

It’s a “normal” day around here. Yesterday I was Becky Home-Ecky all day and so the house is clean and the laundry is done. Some of my friends have asked me if I’m bored being at home by myself during the day. But I am rarely bored. I have so many crazy creative ideas in my head that tend to keep me amused. What does get to me is the “aloneness” though. In the summers in Indiana I always made it a point to have an outing every day–lunch with a friend, shopping, helping out with something at church, teaching at IUSB–something.

So I’m having to be more creative about how to meet people. Last week I signed up for a drawing class at the Sellwood Art Academy (trust me, the name is more impressive than the actuality). It was fun even though most of the other students were twelve and thirteen year olds 🙂 I guess I’d better get used to that age range again if I’m teaching middle school in the fall. I really like the instructor so I think I’ll take a printmaking class with her next week. Today I’m going to wander about in a neighborhood called Hawthorne where I heard there are cool vintage clothing shops and a bead store and some other possibly interesting places.

Our friends Michael and Debra Bonn had a baby on Sunday. Yay! Her name is Audrey Lisa Bonn. I think they should come home from the hospital today. We’ll take dinner over to them some night this week. That will give me some human contact 🙂

We have visited two churches here in town but neither of them have made us go “Aha! This is the church for us!” I don’t think that really happens though (the aha thing). One church is Imago Dei. I think it’s affiliated with the Vineyard churches. It meets in this great old church over by Laurelhurst park. The service was filled with a lot of 20-40 year olds. It’s a new church…only 2 or 3 years old. We liked a lot about it but the odd thing was that not a single person came up to talk to us or greet us or anything. I know they aim to be very nonconfrontational with seekers/visitors but….I’d love for someone to just come up and say hi. I’m sure we’ll give the church another chance since there were so many other positive aspects to it. Next time we’ll have to go to the meeting they have for newcomers after church.

The other church we visited was Portland Mennonite Church….smaller…more traditional service…lots of hymns….very Mennonite…It felt comfortable, sort of like slipping on a really old shoe. But who wants to wear a really old shoe? Two people went out of their way to greet us which was really nice. It felt a lot like Belmont except without the big group of 20 and 30 somethings that we enjoyed so much there. We may return there as well. I sort of would just like to pick a church, commit to it, and start building a new community around ourselves here in Portland.
–deb

Leave a Reply

