Taking up the challenge

I rarely do these kinds of questionnaires, but Amy has put out the challenge, so here I am…

Three names you go by: Deb, Debbie (to those who knew me from very young), Mrs. Miller (I’ve tried and tried to get those kids to call me “Ms. Miller” because Mrs. makes me feel old but whenever they hear I’m married, they immediately default to Mrs.)

Three screen names you have: umm….I don’ t think I have any….I guess I’m not afraid to just be me

Three things you like about yourself: my frankness, creativity, and my hair

Three things you hate/dislike about yourself: insensitivity/lack of tact at times, how I raise my voice when I get really frustrated with my students, my belly fat

Three parts of your heritage: Mennonite, Swiss, German

Three things that scare you: wet curvy highways in the dark, a lingering death, cheap Chinese food

Three of your everyday essentials: coffee, national public radio, Burt’s Bees tinted moisturizer

Three things you are wearing right now: my favorite red Merrill sneaks, jeans, silver hoop earrings

Three of your favorite bands/artists (at the moment): neko case, lucinda williams, leonard cohen

Three of your favorite songs at present: And the Gloria of the Lord from Handel’s Messiah, I’d Still Choose You (Al Green), Lifelong Fling (Over the Rhine)

Three things you want in a relationship (love is a given): laughter, honesty, shared passions

Three things you want to try in the next 12 months: through-hiking the grand canyon, cycling a century, applying to doctorate programs

Two truths and a lie: I’ve never been outside the Americas, I love peas, I wanted to be a dolphin trainer

Three physical things about the opposite (or same) sex that appeals to you: mischievous gleam in the eye, hands that show creativity but no fear of hard work, slender but muscular build (think Lance Armstrong, not Arnold S.)

Three things you just can’t do: play any sports that involve a ball, make phone calls to strangers, keep my art/craft supplies organized

Three of your favorite hobbies: reading, eating, cycling when the weather is nice

Three things you want to do really badly right now: see my three best friends, take a long bath and finish my book, go find my husband and kiss him because it’s our anniversary and it has been a wonderful 9 years.

Three careers you’re considering: college professor, lawyer, artist/mama

Three places you want to go on vacation: Pacific Northwest (that’s why I moved here), Europe, Costa Rica

Three kids’ names: jedidiah “jed”, karaline, jack

Three things you want to do before you die: live and work in another country, build a new house from scratch, become fluent in Spanish

Three people you’d like to take this quiz now, or die a painful death (just kidding about that last part!): cris ramsdale, sarah gillam, andrew cowells (drew, I know you’re reading this….just answer in the comments. come on, i know you really want to do it)

One response to “Taking up the challenge

  1. Ha! What makes you think I read your blog so predictably?
    Besides, I’ve no time to answer at the moment…
    maybe in the future…

Leave a Reply

