Fall

School has started. I’m not superstitious at all, but I almost hesitate to say how well it is going so far. Somehow it seems like if I say it is going great it will jinx it. I keep asking Stacey, “What am I forgetting?” The 7th graders are still charmingly innocent, and so far they don’t appear to be very needy. The 8th graders have come back several inches taller and with 8th grade attitudes, but I had developed relationships with many of them last year and I’m counting on those relationships to survive the travails of adolescence this year.

I actually left school at 4:00 p.m. today. That is my target departure time but last year I was almost always there until 5:00. Those of you who work in the 9-5 world may think that’s “just those lucky teachers who have their summers off and get off work early every day.” But we teachers know that we’re there at 7:30 in the morning; and, although we are supposed to have a 30-minute duty free lunch, we usually end up working through part or all of those 30 minutes. Leaving at 4 made me feel like I added an additional hour to my evening. Yay!

I don’t have much more to say. I keep feeling like I should write about my feelings regarding Hurricane Katrina but words fail in the face of such suffering.

Off to pet my dog behind the ears and watch some brain-deadening t.v.

Love,
d

Leave a Reply

