Busy but loving it

I went to Wild Women III–my friend Amy’s yearly jaunt in the woods with women friends. It was a beautiful weekend and I adore Silver Falls State Park for its cool greenness even at the end of this dry summer. I loved the new women friends that I made, but it made me really miss my “hometown girls”–my midwestern friends who know me so well that I don’t feel like I ever need to explain myself.

Saturday night confirmed that Nuestra Cocina is my current Favorite Portland Restaurant. The cinnamon ice cream is to die for! It sounds like some shoddy Mexican chain form of ice cream but it tastes like little bits of cinnamon joy.

Enough yammering. Sunday we had a cookout with some of Nate’s co-workers up in Battle Ground, Washington. It was a crisp, clear fall day with a good game of bocci. Sunday evening we had home community at our house. By 8:30 Sunday night when everyone finally left we were both ready for some peaceful, together time.

This week is Back-to-School-Night on Tuesday so I’ll be at work from 7:30 a.m. to 8:30 p.m. or so. Wednesday I start the graduate class that I’m taking through Portland State University–“Legal Aspects of Special Education“–doesn’t that sound thrilling? 🙂 So it will be another 7:30 a.m. to 9:30 p.m. day away from home. And then Thursday we invited friends over for dinner. It will be a tiring week but for all good reasons.

I must remind myself that I have CHOSEN my busyness and I am busy about things that I am passionate about.

Off to bed,
deb

One response to “Busy but loving it

  1. I know I’m a geek, but I think that class actually DOES sound like a fun way to spend an evening.
    Good to talk with you last weekend.
    Andrew

Leave a Reply

