Twenty Meals in 90 Minutes


I’m a good enough Mennonite girl to have always liked the idea of “once a month cooking“–where you prep all your meals for a month in one long, exhausting day. However, I’ve never been very good at the whole domestic thing and, while I like the idea, I’ve never managed to follow through and do all the cooking for a month in a day.

Then my friend, Debra, tried out Dream Dinners and convinced me to try it myself. So, Thursday night I headed out about 8:00 p.m. and returned at 9:30 with an entire cooler full of meals. We have: Chicken Mirabella, “Muy Bueno” Chicken Fajitas, Garlic & Herb Beef Sirloin with Mushroom Sauce, Potato and Rosemary-Crusted Salmon, Chicken Cordon Bleu, Hearty Beef Stew, Breaded Pork Chops with German Potatoes, Stuffed Pasta Italiano, etc. All neatly packed away in ziplock bags in the Amish Freezer*.

There’s an odd sense of accomplishment here despite the fact that all I did was assemble the already prepped ingredients.

Here are my pros and cons so far:

Pros-
–they do all the prep work
–they clean up after you (!)
–very professional kitchen with great Oxo measuring cups
–all the ingrediants looked and smelled really fresh
–you can alter the recipe’s spices and ingredients to your personal taste
–12 menu options for roughly $200 doesn’t sound like that good of a deal until you realize that all the meals are 4-6 servings so really Nate and I will have about 24 dinners and maybe some left-overs for lunches

Cons-
–$200!!!
–Menus are meat-heavy and will need to be supplemented with veg side dishes for a balanced meal
–I killed a Ziploc plastic tree (but being a good green girl I’ll reuse all of the bags)
–No way to ensure that they’re using local and/or organic produce

The jury is out until we’ve had a chance to actually eat some of the food.

*The Amish Freezer–Not only do we store our own food, but we also store a quarter of grass-fed beef that we bought together with friends from our home community. In the best Amish tradition, they store it here and come pick it up when they need it.

2 responses to “Twenty Meals in 90 Minutes

  1. I’m totally sold on the idea. Unfortunately, no Dream Dinners exist in the greater DC metro area. The idea of not having to grocery shop or clean up sounds heavenly and I think we’d actually end up saving money, given how often we eat out when neither of us wants to think about dinner or when there is no food in the house to cook with. That being said, I’m off to the grocery store. . .

  2. *sigh* oh to have premade meals for my lunches . . .

    hee hee! i laughed when i read that you killed a ziploc plastic tree!

Leave a Reply

