We have not fallen off the face of the earth

I heard today that it has rained 6 inches in the past two days. I was not surprised. No, I was not surprised for I have been thoroughly soaked. We did catch a few breaks from the rain here and there for Keegan to go for walks. She is refuses to go out, even to pee, if the rain is too intense for her liking.

It is so wet that last night there was a little wind and several trees fell down across town. Their roots just gave up trying to hold on under all that mud. We have not fallen off the face of the earth….yet. But we might topple over if it keeps raining.

To amuse myself I’ve been plotting the next phase of the ongoing bowling-alley living room project. Nate and I sketched out some ideas to beef up the fireplace and put a partial divider down the center of the room to break it into two living areas–henceforth to be called The Library and The Living Room. Nate survived 30 minutes in a fabric store the other day despite his childhood memories of torture between the bolts of fabric. It was certainly the most efficient fabric shopping expedition I have ever gone on. We came home with three samples and I think we’ve narrowed it down to one sort of modern/transitional print that will look great.

In other not-so-news, I realized that I blogged a lot about the Never-Ending Bedroom Project and never actually put up any pictures when it ended. So here’s one in case anyone cares. I guess it’s not actually ended since we still need to hang the really cool light that we bought that was made in Costa Rica. Oh, and someday we might hang some pictures.

It’s probably the most “designed” room I’ve ever done, and I’m pretty happy with how it turned out. I get to wake up in the middle of a latte every morning :). I love the American Clay earth plaster walls and the low-budget Target dupoini silk curtains and the gnarly old walnut table we found in the back of our favorite junk store. And in a little bit, I am going to bed there!

Peaceful sleep to all.

2 responses to “We have not fallen off the face of the earth

  1. Bedroom looks sweet… and your blog has a new look! I did a double take and wondered if I had gone to the right place.

    Ryan F

  2. I like the western mountian look of your log table.

    joy

Leave a Reply

