Archeological Expedition

This weekend the wise and bearded one and I rented our very own dumpster. Because I crave instant gratification, I think demolition is so much fun! In two days we took our very 70s orange shag basement back to…the dark ages. We’ll put some more pictures up in the next couple of days, but here I want to document my fascination with the wallpaper that you find behind the wallpaper.

The first layer of wallpaper was hard for Nate to get rid of as it is a montage of old tavern signs and ads.

The second layer of wallpaper was an innocuous 50s lavendar print.

The sweetest paper was this bucolic doe and buck scene. If only it were salvagable I think it would be great! As it is, it only exists under the stair well.

Beside taking down wallpaper, we also: cleaned the garage, tore out the orange/rust shag carpet, tore out the bar, ripped down the hideous drywall ceiling, and removed plastic tile that was under the carpet. Nasty, nasty stuff! Now instead of a “finished” basement, we have a totally unfinished cave, but I have faith in Nate and the ideas that bounce around in his head. Hopefully, the rebuilding of the space will be timely and relatively painless. And I promise: no wallpaper!

7 responses to “Archeological Expedition

  1. Bonus points for using the word “bucolic.” 🙂

  2. congrats on attacking the basement! can’t wait to see what dreams come to fruition in all that space down there.

  3. are you on spring break?

    good job you two!

  4. Well, it’s not spring break quite yet–next weekend, we just got a head start.
    Cris, I can’t wait to see what it turns into either (I only have a faintest of glimmer of what is in Nate’s brain).
    Fred, thanks for noticing the “bucolic”. I put it in for my own pleasure, but I’ll gladly share with others who enjoy the cogent phrase here and there. I’m trying to figure out how to use “sententious” without sounding ostentatious.

  5. so how much does it cost to rent a dumpster anyway (we have much to dispose of and I keep promising our neighbor she won’t have to stare at it forever).

  6. I think it cost about $200. We didn’t have a full-size dumpster…I’d have to ask Nate to get the specifics. Anyways, we filled it up in 2 days and they came and hauled it away. Now I think we’re going to have to get another one because our project (and therefore, demo) keeps expanding in scope!

  7. can’t wait to see the finished product – we just got back from Mexico, amazing trip! now back to yard work and emails…

Leave a Reply

