Taking Food Seriously

Reading the Omnivore’s Dilemma this summer combined with other thinking we’ve been doing on food, the environment, and the plight of the small family farm is making us even more conscious of the food we eat. The Wise and Bearded One and myself have long been fans of excellent food grown organically (and who isn’t) but now we’re making even more of a concerted effort to buy locally and sustainably.

This summer I already picked and froze at least 15 pounds of blueberries (I wasn’t really counting) and another 5 pounds or so of black cherries. We also went in with friends to buy 1/4 grass-fed beef from a farm about an hour south of here. And, although our veggie garden failed miserably this summer, we’re committed to try again this month by planting a winter garden.

Last Saturday a trip to the downtown Farmer’s Market yielded this whole pile of fresh produce for less than $20. It makes me feel richly blessed to walk up and down rows of earthy-fragrant, shining fruits and vegetables being sold by barefoot kids and aging hippies and old-fashioned famers.

It’s not a perfect plan. We still buy from the Industrial Organic (Trader Joes) and the Not Organic At All (Safeway). But it feels like a small step in the right direction.

Support your local farmers!

2 responses to “Taking Food Seriously

  1. Omnivore’s Dilemma was one of the best books I’ve read in a while. I’m still trying to process it. What did you think?

  2. I’m still reading the very last section (Nate already finished it). I think it is one of the most informative and thought-provoking books I’ve read in a while. I’ve also really enjoyed his writing style–research-based, engaging, and relatively unbiased.

    I found the section on the Industrial Organic most disturbing. I fall for the “stories” that organic grocery chains try to sell me. It was challenging to read about how little difference there is between the conventional food industry and the organic food industry. I don’t think it will stop me from buying “organic” food, but I’m trying to opt for local options over organic if I have to choose.

    Right now I’m reading the hunter/gatherer section. I’m feeling self-righteous that I actually did have hands-on contact with food growing up–watching Clarence Yoder butcher our steers in the back yard, plucking chickens with my aunts, etc. But I admit that I am further removed from the food I eat today.

    I’d love to hear your thoughts and may say more once I’ve finished the book.–>

Leave a Reply

