They’ve Taken a Toll, These Latter Days

You’ll note that our posts have been few and far between lately. It’s been a tough couple of months. The wise and bearded one unexpectedly had two co-workers on his team leave the firm, which left him working on two multi-million dollar projects with a reduced team of architects and designers. It’s been very stressful and Nate has been working long days, coming home for dinner, and turning around to go back into work for a couple of more hours.

Before this happened, I had already commited to coaching volleyball so that complicated matters with the two of us juggling dog duties and dinner and who-has-the-car. I’ve also been battling colds and sinus infections since the beginning of the school year as well as the mild dysthymia (how’s that for a vocab word) I feel every winter.

All this to say, they’ve taken a toll, these latter days. A toll on our marriage and on our spirits. Thankfully, the worst seems to be past and we’re able to come up for air, get our bearings and keep moving on. I really think we’ll be ok.

Latter Days
words and music: Detweiler
recording: Good Dog Bad Dog

What a beautiful piece of heartache this has all turned out to be.
Lord knows we’ve learned the hard way all about healthy apathy.
And I use these words pretty loosely.
There’s so much more to life than words.

There is a me you would not recognize, dear. Call it the shadow of myself.
And if the music starts before I get there dance without me. You dance so gracefully.
I really think I’ll be o.k. They’ve taken their toll these latter days.

Leave a Reply

