Autumn Update

It’s finally starting to rain again! After 3 or 4 months of flawlessly sunny, dry days, a little rain is good for the soul. And for the grass and trees and flowers. In a couple of days Portland will transform from that brown dusty wasteland of summer back into verdant jewel-tone greens that I love.

We’ve been going, going, going so the rain means we can rest. We don’t have to be out there “enjoying nature” and going for hikes and bike rides 🙂 It’s been busy this month with the beginning of the school year and having house guests and having some fun. My junior high students have gotten off to a good start so that’s a relief. But they brought with them an onslaught of new viruses and I, along with just about every other adult in my building, have been attacked by a lingering cold virus.

I’m teaching one class at Portland State University–Survey of Exceptional Learners (sp.ed. for reg.ed. teachers). The first meeting was last Wednesday night. I was not having a very good week. I had all sorts of computer problems prepping for the class plus I had a sore throat and my voice was threatening to leave my body. Fortunately, a nameless PSU computer tech came to my rescue and, with his help, and frequent drinks of water I made it through the first 2 1/2 hour lecture.

I stayed home sick on Thursday and slept all day. I feel a little better now. Which is good since tomorrow is the LiveStrong Challenge—and it’s starting to look like it will be a forty-mile bike ride in the rain.

That’s all for now.

Leave a Reply

