Unexpected Gift

This morning I woke up to the news that school was canceled for the day–snow day!  The funny thing is that the roads in our neighborhood were completely clear and the snow that was on the lawns quickly melted.  It feels a big indulgent to have a snow day when it’s clear here in the valley.  I guess it was icy in the West Hills.

It’s crazy but I have so many things that I’d like to do “when I have time” that it’s hard to figure out what to do first.  The choices nearly put me out of commission.  The dogs got TWO walks today, I met Nate for lunch,  I packed up and mailed some stuff that’s been waiting to be posted, I had a cup of coffee and a cookie (chocolate chocolate chocolate from Grand Central Bakery–yum!), and I got to play around in my studio.

In other news, this is my last week as a junior high teacher.  I have accepted a position as a “supported education” teacher at the two high schools in my district.  I’ll be supporting the high school special education programs and reporting directly to the director of special education.  I’m excited for some new challenges and I’m curious to see if I find a more administrative-type position fulfilling or if I’ll miss the daily interaction with students.

I’m sort of dreading this week.  I think it’s starting to sink in with my students that I’m leaving.  A retired teacher is coming in to finish out the school year for me.  She started last week so we could have some overlap and get her up to speed with what I’ve been doing in the classroom.  She’s taken over the teaching component already and this week I need to tie up loose ends on paperwork and teach her how to use the software that we use to write IEPs.  It’s really hard for me to give up “my” school and “my” students and “my” fabulous co-workers. I’ve been pretty sad about that.  It doesn’t help that a couple of my co-workers and a couple of my students have already shed a few tears about my leaving.  I’m glad that they’re not cheering, “Whoo-hoo!  She’s leaving!” but it’s hard for me to know how to respond to their sadness when I’m actually a little excited to be moving on.

I feel like this unexpected gift of time has given me a chance to prepare myself for the week ahead.  Thanks, snow day!

4 responses to “Unexpected Gift

  1. Got a kick on the school closings as well. 🙂

    Congrats on the new position!

  2. Congratulations on the new job! I’m sure you’ll do well, but I’m sad for you and your students/co-workers as well. I’m sure you’ll stay in contact with your co-workers, so that will be okay.

  3. …and, us Hoosiers would find it strange to have asnow day like that!

  4. Congrats Deb! I know that you will do an awesome job. We miss you guys!

Leave a Reply

