Easy on the Pink, Now!

It’s a girl.  Or as the ultrasound technician said, “there are no protrusions.”  I think that means it’s a girl.

One head.  Two arms.  Two legs.  Ten fingers.  Ten toes (or was that eleven?!).  Four-chambered heart.  Fully-closed spinal cord in the lumbar and sacrum areas (I know–it’s a weird thing to look for but I can’t help it.  I know a little too much about spina bifida).  She was very active during the ultrasound–moving around a lot, waving her fists in the air around her face, and generally trying  to hide from the ultrasound tech.

Nate and I were both fascinated by the images of our little…girl?!  I guess we can’t really name her Stephen Colbert Miller after all.  Maybe Stephanie Colbert?

I’ll admit that on my way home, I stopped at my favorite toy shop and bought the Sprout a doll.  It’s orange, not pink (which I am not a fan of) and matches the cycling cap Nate bought her at a bike show last weekend.  I’d like to think that if she had been a boy, I would have bought him a doll too.  Maybe a blue one.

5 responses to “Easy on the Pink, Now!

  1. That’s great! I’m in the PICU right now and have seen a few too many kids who did not have four-chambered hearts. I’m so glad that Stephanie is intact. Love the updates; keep them coming.

  2. Oh. My. That is SO exciting!!! 🙂

    Love you (& her)

    🙂 🙂

  3. Fun! Now you can keep that Kimono Wrap for her. I’m sensing more excitement since the Ultrasound.

  4. I am so excited about adding another girl to the family! Amen to the “easy on the pink” request 🙂

  5. This really is exciting! Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

