reason #182 to live in portland

Portland Opera

Ok, so I’ve never been to the opera before…other than a few short operettas that I saw in college, but I went to see Verdi’s Macbeth Thursday night with my friend Michelle. It was way cooler than I expected. I grew to love Shakespeare’s Macbeth after teaching it a few years to seniors at Penn High School. Verdi’s opera follows Shakespeare’s script closely so it was easy to follow. While I doubt I’ll ever love the sounds of a soprano screeching at the top of her range, I loved the baritone and tenor parts. The Portland Opera staged it using a modern dance troupe to play the witches and video/lighting to set the stage so it was a fun mix of traditional opera and modern elements. I’d do it again.

One response to “reason #182 to live in portland

  1. mmmm shakespeare is my favorite . . .–>

Leave a comment